• Why don’t students learn what I teach them when I teach it to them? (Whatever that it may be)
  • Why do students stubbornly refuse to learn at a constant regular pace? Why do they suddenly splurge forward then reach a plateau of stagnation until the next unexpected splurge?
  • Do students learn in spite of or because of my teaching?
  • Is it really possible to reach proficiency in English without total language immersion in an English speaking country?
  • Does teaching grammar do anything more than make students good at doing grammar exercises in that declarative knowledge (grammar) never becomes procedural knowledge (speaking)?
  • Has anyone ever learned English through using a text book?
  • Should I get students to do boring repetative tasks, however “useful” I think they may be, when I wouldn’t be prepared to do those things myself?
  • Assuming different learning styles really do exist, should I bend over backwards to cater to each and every individual student according to whims in any given moment?
  • Should I only teach collocations instead of word lists and individual lexical items? And how chunky should those infamous language chunks be?

I could, and probably will, go on and on and on, yet the bottom line here seems to be that most of the interesting questions in ELT are still unresolved. And that suits me just fine. The implication is that there’s room for us all to have our say, give our opinion, share our testimonies as battle-scared front-line English teachers.

My purpose here in this blog is to create a teaching journal or sorts, where I can ramble on about some of the questions that niggle me personally, in the hope that by doing so maybe I can come to some sort of conclusion or at least pragmatic day to day solutions on how to do what I do as best I can and feel to some extent that, as a dedicated teacher of English as a second language, I am indeed making a difference.

